The Turban Goes Urban

6 Dec

Kylie Minogue in Tuban Hat and Chanel Coat

I know this picture of Kylie Minogue wearing a turban style woolen hat with her Chanel jacket has caused divides among the fashion conscious, but I have to say, I’m down with KM on this one! This is cute and chic and a little bit whacky, I want one!

The turban as a fashion statement is, to me, terribly Art Deco (see below) – a movement that never fails to excite me.

However, the turban is a traditional head cover in the Middle East, North Africa and Southwest Asia – designed to keep the wearer cool and protected in hot, harsh climates, like the desert.

The first records of this style of headpiece can be found in Egypt, but the shape we call a turban today is probably most recognisable in history as the headpiece of choice for high-ranking Turks during the Ottoman Empire:

Mahmud II, Sultan of the Ottoman Empire

The first impression that comes to my mind for “turban” is a picture of a Sikh man, such as below:

 

A Sikh Man wearing the Turban or "Pagri" as it is known in India

Does anyone remember a Sikh man saving Annie (1982 film) from death by unwrapping his turban?! Or is that just me…? I think he was called “Punjab”…this was all before PC people! ha ha

How did I digress to Annie?!

Let’s get back on track, with none other than the lovely SJP, yep, she sported a turban in the latest SATC movie for the girls’ Middle Eastern experience, and I have to say, I think she looks good.

SJP wears Turbans for SATC2 Movie

Wanna learn to wear the style like these cuties in Japan?

Ogimomo by Murua Ladies

Here are the instructions, get your Japanese dictionary out!

How to tie a turban style with silk scarf

And here’s my attempt – what do you think?!

Moi? Pose? Whatever Darling! 😉

Getting hold of a winter tuban a la Kylie is not too easy, the trend hasn’t quite filtered onto the High Street yet, so you have two options: Etsy or Knit Your Own (thank you V&A Museum, you make me proud to be British!).

Ew, just found this leather one at Urban Outfitter, yuk!

Leather Turban at Urban Outfitters

Have your say! Who looks best:

Vote below:

One Response to “The Turban Goes Urban”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. China’s First It-Girl? « Kay Bruce On Style - April 25, 2011

    […] Apparently the “turban” was a shawl she creatively wrapped around her head. I think she must have read my post, The Turban Goes Urban… […]

Leave a Reply

