Future TIBI?

10 Jul

I can never get through the fashion dome at the Mall of the Emirates without getting sucked through the doors of Boutique 1…I know, the perils of expat life, still, my detour was not without value – I discovered the New York label TIBI.

TIBI Spring 2011
 
I tried on a great draped jersey dress with a cool blue tones leopard print motif, alas it did not fit me, but it did pique my interest enough to check out the label online later at home.
 
And what I found was a story very similar to my own. Creative at heart, went to university, worked in marketing, moved abroad with husband, used time as expat to pursue long-held dream to start her fashion label….the only difference, TIBI started in 1997 – so I wonder if I can say in 14 years time that I am as successful as TIBI – I hope so! She’s stocked all over the world and shows at New York Fashion week. Her studio is in Soho in New York and by all accounts things are going well.
 
K x
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

