Feather Earrings – Second Time Round?

17 Sep

I have been trying to ignore the latest trend for feather earrings. Why? Because I feel like this is so 2002 and I’m not ready to accept that a trend I wore at university has “resurfaced”  – I cannot be that old?!

Gwyneth Paltrow in Feather Earrings - Grammys 2011

 
I wonder how long it takes for a trend to pop back up? How long do we have to let something lie before we can bring it back to life and make it feel new?! And why do some trends re-surface, whilst others are dead in the water?
 
Have Doc Martins got cool again? Nope, not since the 90s…hyperglow t-shirts anyone? But maxi skirts, yes maxi skirts are having their moment again (last time I wore one, my mum had to take a lot of inches off the bottom so I didn’t trip up on the way to school!):
 

Maxi Skirt Trend 2011

 
Also – why does the 70s flare jean come and go while the skinny has stuck?! Is the skinny going to be an eduringly “noughties” garment that in 10 years time will feel like the crop-top-khaki-pants combo of the 90s?
 
Spice Girls – 90s Fashion Medley!
 
 
Hell – let’s get really deep: Why do we humans even need trends? Who are we? What are we doing here?!….just putting it out there… 😉
 
My lovely mother-in-law offered me some magazines to read during my summer holiday at her place – Vogue, Marie Claire and so on…from about 4 years ago – but I thought, what the hell – and what did I find? That things have not moved on too much in four years – if I had changed the cover you would not have known these magazines were 4 years old, really.
 
So, tell me, how is a trend a trend and when does it stop being trendy? Answers on a postcard please 🙂
 
K x
 

 

One Response to “Feather Earrings – Second Time Round?”

  1. bonkasaurus September 18, 2011 at 01:48 #

    I love the maxi skirt! I hate flared jeans they remind me of elementary school.

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

